George Cross Falcons Club Inc.
The Club is situated ten minutes outside Wollongong and forty minutes from Liverpool. The Club was built in 1951 to serve the Maltese community that arrived in the Illawarra to work at the steel works. It has also served the community as a welcoming place for all the Ministers and Clergyman and others that travelled to Australia from Malta to meet the Maltese that migrated to all parts of Australia. Today the Club is proud of its great committee that understands the importance of solidarity and the President, Louis Parnis, bringing lots of management skills to the Club.
The Club now boasts a large painting of the Malta Harbour and Wollongong sceneries on the front wall of the premises and on the other side of the building there is ahuge steel ship with the Maltese family representing migration to the Illawarra.
We encourage everyone to visit the Club at some time to appreciate all the work we have achieved in the last few years, things like renovation of the amenities block, air-conditioning, solar panels on the roof, computers for public usage and the planting of trees are some of the new things.
The Club recently also had built a large workshop in the yard to host the Men’sWorkshop. The workshop was opened 3 years ago to make toys for sick and disadvantage kids in the area to be given away for free.
The Club opens every Monday from 10.00 am to 2.30 pm when Maltese Fun day is held. Morning tea, cooked lunch with dessert is provided for a small donation of $5.00.
If you are thinking of organising a bus for this day, or for more information about the club, please ring the President, Mr. Parnis, on 0420857363 and provide us with ample notice.
The current office bearers are as follows:
Louis Parnis JP
The George Cross Falcons Club Inc.
25-27 Lake Avenue
Cringila NSW 2502
(02) 4274 6121
Mobile phone 0420857363